PRESSNOTE

Panchkula, the 8th June, 2010:- Sh.Dharam Vir, State Election Commissioner, Haryana announced the re-polling in 149 polling stations of districts Palwal, Mewat, Bhiwani, Jhajjar, Kaithal, Faridabad and Sonepat on the recommendations of reports received from the Deputy Commissioners-cum-District Election Officers (Panchayat), concerned Returning Officers (Panchayats) and taking all the material circumstances into account in the elections held on 06th June, 2010. The re-polling in these districts have been announced due to errors in printing of ballot papers, eruption of violence, snatching and destruction of ballot papers, Electronic Voting Machines, Ballot Boxes and other election material etc., the poll process at these booths has been vitiated and the poll has not been conducted as per the provisions of the Haryana Panchayati Raj Act, 1994 and Rules framed thereunder and as per directions issued by the State Election Commission from time to time. The re-poll in the above mentioned district shall be held on 10th June, 2010 from 07.30 AM to 04.00 PM for the offices of Panches, Sarpanches, Member Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad at the Polling Stations/Booths already notified.

- 2. He further stated that the Director General of Police has been asked to make fool proof security arrangements for holding re-poll at the booths especially in districts Mewat and Palwal by deploying Armed Police also and IRB and take stern action against the persons who indulge in violence and destruction of election material.
- 3. The district wise re-polling as under:-

Sr. No.	District Name	Number of Polling Stations	Number of villages
1.	Bhiwani	26	15
2.	Faridabad	5	04
3.	Jhajjar	7	02
4.	Kaithal	3	02
5.	Mewat	44	20
6.	Palwal	63	23
7.	Sonepat	1	1
	Total	149	67